The race for the Premier League is well and truly on

Evening guys.

My first piece on this blog. My close friend decided to run a blog on everything we talk about down at the local pub, and lo and behold I’ve been roped in to do a sports section. I’m a sports editor if you like, one without pay! Instead of money I’m sure I can except a few pints!

As an Arsenal supporter and blogger, over at http://cescandthecity.blogspot.com/ (shameless plug I know!) I will try to stay away from Arsenal news if possible. I will turn my attentions to the race for the Premier League, coincidently featuring Arsenal.

So, who is best placed to win the Premier League?

With 25 games gone, Man United find themselves 4 points ahead of Arsenal. But are things really as good as they look? Well no. The most ardent of United supports will surely admit the side are poor in comparison to previous seasons. They lost for the first time this season against Wolves last Saturday, and to last that long without defeat is a miracle. A team bereft of World Class players, yet with that winning mentality they are very difficult to beat, no matter who plays. How United react will be interesting. Alex Ferguson wouldn’t have enjoyed watching his team slip up against Wolves, and will demand urgent improvement.  And what a time to start than tomorrow, against arch rivals Man City.

4 points behind Man United, are Arsenal. Favouritism aside, I believe Arsenal have the best squad. What Arsenal lack, is that mentality to win, with only Gael Clichy and Cesc Fabregas experiencing the winning feeling in an Arsenal shirt. The talent is there, the sublime football is there, but the trophies aren’t. This season Arsenal have a great chance, and need to capitalise on the hard run of games Manchester United will soon stumble upon.

3rd place and just the point behind Arsenal, are Man City. I’ve been surprised at how well City have done this year, and with Carlos Tevez in their team, are an awesome prospect going forward. Yet somehow, something is still missing. I feel the Premier League is out of their reach this season, but next year will see them challenging. Expect them to have a huge say this season though.

In fourth place, as a result of the recent slump in form, are current Champions Chelsea. 10 points behind Man United, you could well rule them out of the running. Not me. With two games yet to be contested between Chelsea and Man United, there is still time for them to make up ground, and we all know how recently purchased Fernando Torres relishes the prospect of facing Vidic and co.

So how do I see the Premier League title race? Honestly? Well for me it is a two horse race between Arsenal and Man Utd. Man City are close, but I still see them falling somewhat short.

Who will come out victorious come May? My heart says Arsenal, my head says Man United.

About CescyBoy
Creator of the Cesc and the City blog (http://cescandthecity.blogspot.com/) helping out a friend writing articles on Sports!

Leave a Reply

